SKIP LINKS: skip to site map | skip to navigation | skip to content

Bookmark and Share

find online bookmakers
latest news
IPL Cricket

Mumbai Indians ~ IPL Cricket Team

Team Mumbai exemplifies the essence of its home city. The land of a myriad dreams is a melting pot and Mumbai Indians does its best to showcase the same. This franchise is the most expensive in the league and has a fantastic side.

Owner Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd
Coach John Wright
Captain Rohit Sharma
Venue Wankhede Stadium
IPL Best 2013 Winners

When they walked into the auction, their squad which already boasts the biggest names in the game,with the most exciting players in the format, and the deadliest bowler in Twenty20s.

mumbai indians

Team colours Blue and White

Home ground: * Wankhede Stadium (Capacity: 45000)

This team is owned by Mukesh Ambani's Reliance Industries Limited this forward thinking company is bound to make sure that the Mumbai Indians produce games to thrill and exite their fan base. Reliance Industries Limited purchased the rights for the Mumbai franchise of Indian Premier league for a total of Rs. 441 Cr ($ 112.9 m) during the auction on 24 January 2008. In what has been described by some as "the ultimate heights of laziness in name selection" and "like they chose the name by throwing darts on a wall" the franchise was eventually named the Mumbai Indians. While this is arguably a "tour de force" in ineptitude, the name does acknowledge that people from Mumbai are largely Indian, which in the club's defence, is somewhat true. The RIL bid has made the Mumbai Indians the most expensive franchise in IPL, and hence won the right to hold the semi-finals and the final in Mumbai.

2015 Squad

MI (Retained Players): Rohit Sharma, Aditya Tare, Ambati Rayudu, Corey Anderson, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Josh Hazlewood, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Marchant de Lange, Pawan Suyal, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons, Unmukt Chand, R Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel.

MI (Released Players): Michael Hussey, Praveen Kumar, Ben Dunk, Pragyan Ojha, Jalaj Saxena, Krismar Santokie, Sushant Marathe, Apoorv Wankhade, Zaheer Khan, C.M. Gautam.

Last years stats: Played 14 - Won 11, Lost 3, lost in Final to Chennai

2011 Stats Played 14 Won 9 Lost 5 Lost in 2nd Elimination Final to Bangalore RC

2012 Results Played 16 Won 10 Lost 6 points 20

2013 Winners Played 16 won 11 lost 5 points 22

2014 Played 14 Won 7 Lost 7 Points 14

Don't forget to bet on the outcome with Paddy Power

IPL Cricket News

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Kings Punjab XI by 3 wickets in the final on Sunday 1st June 2014, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Orange Cap
1 Robin Uthappa KKR 660 Runs
2 Dwayne Smith CSK | 566 Runs
3 Glenn Maxwell KXIP | 552 Runs

Purple Cap
1 Mohit Sharma CSK 23 Wickets
2 Sunil Narine KKR | 21 Wickets
3 Bhuvneshwar Kumar SRH | 20 Wickets

Most Valuable Player
1 Glenn Maxwell KXIP 286 Pts
2 Dwayne Smith CSK | 285.5 Pts
3 Robin Uthappa KKR | 268 Pts

Fairplay Award
1 Chennai Super Kings
2 Kings XI Punjab
3 Delhi Daredevils
4 Kolkata Knight Riders

Mumbai Indians Videos

Watch the video of the Mumbai Indians theme song